Frequently Asked Questions

  • Breyers Non-Dairy is a new range of products that are not made with dairy, but instead use real almonds. In addition, all of the sauces and inclusions in the products do not contain dairy.

  • Breyers Non-Dairy is made from real almonds, instead of cream and milk.

  • Breyers Non-Dairy Desserts are made with ingredients that do not contain any animal ingredients or animal by-products--including dairy, eggs, honey and sugar refined with bone-char. Appropriate measures are taken to segregate materials and ensure proper cleaning measures are employed to reduce the risk of cross-contamination.

  • Our non-dairy products are suitable for lactose intolerant consumers. These non-dairy products were formulated to exclude any of type of milk or dairy products and proper measures are taken to avoid any cross-contamination.

  • Gelato is made with many of the same ingredients found in ice cream – like milk, sugar and cream. Gelato typically has less fat than ice cream, is denser than ice cream, and the flavours are often more rich. Unlike our ice cream varieties, Breyers Gelato Indulgences come with a unique trio of textures: creamy gelato, luscious sauce and gourmet toppings.

  • Occasionally we offer coupons and samples on our website and Facebook page. In addition, we invite you to sign up for our newsletter to get news and offers delivered to your inbox.

  • Some Breyers products do contain allergens, including gluten. However, most of our ice creams, frozen dairy desserts and frozen desserts are naturally gluten free.  It is our policy that when any of the eleven most common allergens (milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, wheat or triticale, tree nuts, peanuts, soybeans, sesame seeds, mustard seeds, and crustaceans) occur in any of our products they will be listed inside the ingredient statement in plain language or in a contains statement immediately following the ingredient statement.  Look for the Gluten Free seal found on the front, top, or side of our packs.

  • Frozen Dairy Dessert products are made with many of the same high-quality ingredients that are commonly found in Ice Cream – like fresh milk, cream and sugar – and offer a great taste and even smoother texture. According to Canadian regulations, in order for a product to be labeled ice cream, it needs to meet the standard which includes being;

    • Not less than 10% dairy fat
    • A minimum of 36% solids by weight

    Anything that does not meet both of those requirements is not considered ice cream.

  • We have conducted several national taste tests across different flavour profiles to determine how our Frozen Dairy Dessert products perform against ice cream on important product attributes. In these side-by-side taste tests, our fans told us they liked the new recipe just as much as the original.

  • Frozen Dairy Dessert tends to have less fat than ice cream.

  • Yes, Breyers offers a wide range of products to meet the different taste, nutritional, and value needs of consumers. Breyers continues to offer many flavours of ice cream, including all flavours in our Breyers Creamery Style range.

  • These products follow all Legal & Regulatory requirements for packaging, and thus claim Frozen Dairy Dessert on the front of the pack. Additionally, the ingredient list and nutritional information is updated to reflect changes.

  • To manufacture our Frozen Dairy Dessert varieties, we use a new manufacturing technique that allows us to more effectively break down molecules of dairy fat and more evenly distribute them throughout the product to deliver a smoother texture with less milk fat solids.

  • Through the Ask Breyers page on our website, or by calling us at (800) 931-2826.

  • Gluten is a family of proteins found in many cereal grains. According to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA), gluten refers to the proteins that occur naturally in wheat, rye, barley, oats, triticale, and crossbreeds of these grains. Processing these grains to make flours and other derivatives does not remove gluten.

  • Celiac disease is a hereditary, chronic inflammatory disorder of the small intestine. It occurs when the body’s natu-ral defense system reacts to gluten by attacking the lining of the small intestine. Without a healthy intestinal lining, the body cannot absorb the nutrients it needs. Delayed growth and nutrient deficiencies can result and may lead to conditions such as anemia (a lower than normal number of red blood cells) and osteoporosis, a disease in which bones become frag¬ile and more likely to break. Other serious health problems may include diabetes, autoimmune thyroid dis¬ease and intestinal cancers (US Food and Drug Administration).

    Celiac disease affects people differently. According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, there are about 300 known symptoms which may occur in the digestive system or other parts of the body. Some people with celiac disease have no symptoms at all (Celiac Disease Foundation) .

    Celiac disease has no cure, but individuals who have this disease are advised to avoid all sources of gluten in their diet to protect against adverse health effects associated with the disease (US Food and Drug Administration ) . People with celiac disease MUST READ THE LIST OF INGREDIENTS ON ALL LABELS, EVERY TIME.

  • People with non-celiac gluten sensitivity can experience symptoms such as abdominal pain, bloating, diarrhea, constipation, headaches, bone or joint pain, and chronic fatigue when they have gluten in their diet, but other symptoms are also possible. While these are common symptoms of celiac disease, these individuals do not test positive for celiac disease or for a wheat allergy. Do not self-diagnose. If you think you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, talk to your doctor about testing before you start a gluten free diet. This is the only way to ensure accurate test results (Celiac Disease Foundation ).

  • No, the consumption of gluten free products implies no risk, from both a nutritional and a food safety standpoint. Gluten free products can be consumed by everyone, not only people who need or wish to eliminate gluten from their diet. BREYERS® gluten free products can be consumed by anyone.

  • In Canada, the labelling claim “gluten free” means the food bearing the claim does not have a gluten containing grain or any ingredient derived from a gluten containing grain that has not been processed to remove gluten. Furthermore, any unavoidable presence of gluten in the food is below 20 ppm (parts per million) per serving. Health Canada considers that levels of gluten protein below 20 ppm generally do not represent health risks to consumers with celiac disease. Always read the ingredient labels for the most up to date information, as recipes may change.Au Canada, l’allégation «sans gluten» signifie que le produit portant l’allégation ne renferme pas un grain contenant du gluten ou un ingrédient dérivé d’un grain contenant du gluten qui n’a pas été transformé pour enlever le gluten. De plus, toute présence inévitable de gluten dans l’aliment est inférieure à 20 ppm (parties par million) par portion. Santé Canada considère qu’une teneur en protéine de gluten inférieure à 20 ppm ne représente habituellement aucun risque pour la santé des consommateurs atteints de la maladie coeliaque. Lisez toujours la liste d’ingrédients pour avoir l’information la plus à jour, car les recettes peuvent changer.

  • Canadian regulations require that wheat, barley, oats, rye, triticale, and ingredients derived from these grains, when present in a food, are declared in the ingredient statement. The source of the gluten must be shown on the label of the product in the list of ingredients (e.g., “wheat flour”), or in a “contains” statement (e.g., “contains wheat”).

    Always read the ingredient labels for the most up to date information, as recipes may change.

  • Our manufacturing facility must take all appropriate measures to mitigate the risk of cross-contact from gluten containing grains and gluten containing ingredients that have not been processed to remove gluten at all stages of the process.

    At the BREYERS® facility, there are systems in place to prevent cross-contact of gluten on our line of gluten free products. They include employee allergen training, ingredient segregation, cleaning procedures and production planning. The gluten free program within the factory includes validation and verification activities, which include testing on both the product and the production lines.

  • We do not have a list of gluten free products and, unless labeled as such, do not guarantee that our products are gluten free. Formulations and ingredients change too frequently to ensure that such lists are always up-to-date and accurate.

    Always read the ingredient labels for the most up to date information, as recipes may change.
     

  • Some BREYERS® products contain wheat flour and cannot be labeled gluten free without changing their recipe.

    There are additional offerings in MAGNUM®, KLONDIKE®, and POPSICLE® that do not contain gluten within the ingredients. However, they are made on processing equipment not validated as being gluten free. Therefore, there is no guarantee that other products made in this factory do not contain gluten.

    Please read ingredient labels for the most up to date information.

  • Gluten free BREYERS® products are not healthier than regular products. As they do not contain gluten, they are designed to meet the needs of people with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. The claim on pack allows making these products easily recognized by people that need to avoid gluten. Nevertheless, BREYERS® gluten free products can be consumed by anyone.

  • No, BREYERS® ice cream products are not made in a gluten/wheat free facility; however, stringent criteria are used to ensure that the products that claim to be gluten free are handled properly.

    At the BREYERS® facility, there are systems in place to prevent cross-contact of gluten in products that make a gluten free claim. They include employee allergen training, ingredient segregation, cleaning procedures and production planning. The gluten free program within the factory includes validation and verification activities which include allergen testing on both the product and the production lines.
     

  • Yes, however, always read the ingredient labels for the most up to date information, as recipes may change.

  • Breyers® delights are frozen dairy desserts that will leave your taste buds in disbelief. They have 280-360 calories and 16 grams of protein per pack and are made with real ingredients like Canadian milk and cream. (70-90 calories and 4 g of protein per 125 mL serving).

  • At Breyers®, we’re always listening to our fans and innovating to offer what our fans are looking for in frozen treats. We know many of our fans are giving more thought to the food choices that they make. With that in mind, we are expanding our portfolio with the introduction of Breyers delights. With 280-360 calories and 16 grams of protein per pack, Breyers® delights offers our fans indulgence without all the guilt. (70-90 calories and 4 g of protein per 125 mL serving).

  • These are some of Canada’s favourite flavours and we are delighted to offer them now with 280-360 calories and 16 grams of protein per pack (70-90 calories and 4 g of protein per 125 mL serving).

  • We recommend you talk to your store manager about ordering it. The more it’s requested, the more likely it is for your store to carry it!

  • Breyers® delights are frozen dairy desserts that will leave your taste buds in disbelief. They have 280-360 calories and 16 grams of protein per pack and are made with real ingredients like Canadian milk and cream (70-90 calories and 4 g of protein per 125 mL serving).

  • For more than 150 years, Breyers® has been committed to delivering delicious frozen treats for our fans. We recognize that our products, including the new Breyers® delights, satisfy different tastes, preferences and dietary needs, and we’re excited to offer a product for people seeking options with fewer calories and more protein. 

  • First and foremost, Breyers® delights is made with high quality ingredients, flavours from natural sources, fresh cream and condensed skim milk. Breyers® delights also mixes in sugar substitutes and a milk-based protein blend to create a great-tasting dessert without all the guilt. All of our ingredients are carefully selected to provide the right amount of sweetness, creamy texture and flavour while reducing calories.   

  • We use sugar substitutes, including erythritol, maltitol syrup, and a highly-purified stevia extract, to give Breyers® delights the right amount of sweetness and flavour while reducing calories.

  • Except for Breyers® delights Cookies & Cream, Breyers® delights do not have gluten containing ingredients in their recipes. However, currently, we cannot verify that Breyers® delights frozen desserts are gluten-free.

Contact us

We’ll help you find what you’re looking for.

Call us

1-800-931-2826
Monday - Friday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM Eastern Time

Emergency Hotline

1-800-297-7421
This number is available 24 hours
a day/ 7 days a week.